top of page

Advertise Here.

Read Full Story Here...
Formby School of Dancing & Perfoming Arts new banner.jpg

The third year of the Pride of Formby awards took place last Friday

Friday 1st March was the third year of the Pride of Formby Awards organised by Formby Parish Council. It was a huge success that has now become an annual event to recognise our unsung heroes of Formby.

The event was held at the Gild Hall in Formby with guest presenter, Gold Medalist in both the 2016 and 2017 Invictus Games, Formby resident, Alex Krol along with brilliant compare Hannah Wilson who kept the whole event ticking along nicely.

The G Force Choir opened the nights awards and were absolutely brilliant!

It was a night to honour both our young and older generation for all that they have done for the community and others and the reasons why they won were truly outstanding.

Chair of Formby Parish Council, Maria Bennett said: "I would like to thank all the sponsors that enable this event to go on and tonight is all about recognising what people do in our local community. A lot of them touch other peoples lives whether it's raising money or they might have survived something in their life. It's all about recognising our community and the people in our community."

"We would like to thank everyone who put forward nominations and if your nomination did not win this year then please put them forward next year. All nominations were worthy winners in their own right and we only wish we could have given them all an award but then it would not have left anyone for next year to be nominated so look out for next years Pride of Formby's Awards and nominate your unsung hero."

Local business supporters were the Gild Hall and sponsors of the awards were Red Star Brewery, Ian Cockbain Wealth Management, B&B Construction Formby Ltd, Harbord Electrical, Formby Tool Hire, Star Swimming Academy, DefSec Global Ltd and also Little Altcar Parish Council.

All the winners had a story to be told and left some of the audience very emotional. It was both an emotional but rewarding night to remember.

Watch the full Formby Bubble video of the awards here:

The winners were:

The Extra Mile Award was won by Ian Edgley & Formby Library Team

Sponsored by Red Star Brewery

Teachers of the Year Award was won by Impact PRU Oakfield Campus

Sponsored by Ian Cockbain Wealth Management

The Sports Coach of the Year Award was won by Will Kildare

Sponsored by B&B Construction Formby Ltd

The Young Fundraiser of the Year Award was won by Charlotte Russell & Evie Scott

Sponsored by Harbord Electrical

The Adult Fundraiser of the Year Award was won by Kevin Dunne

Sponsored by Formby Tool Hire

Courage Award was won by David Hemsley

Sponsored by Little Altcar Parish Council

The Community Hero Award was won by Maggie Flodman (but received by her daughter)

Sponsored by Little Altcar Parish Council

Special Young Person was won by Freedom Doran

Sponsored by Star Swimming Academy

The Lifetime Achievement Award was won by Joan Rimmer

Sponsored by DefSec Global Ltd

All Photos for the event were taken by Michael Weild

Watch the full video of the awards here:

GA Bathrooms.jpeg
Premier Fencing Large Square.jpg
BLD Studio.png
Large Square Advert.jpg
square with Hot Tub.jpg
Square Advert 1.jpg
Square Advert.jpg
square with Hot Tub.jpg
BLD Studio.png
Large Square Advert.jpg

Submit Your News to Formby Bubble

Contact us with your Community News, Business or Sports News. 

Phone our Newsdesk on: 01704 86 30 30 






Please submit your news story to, the biggest news outlet for Formby with over 40,000 individual hits on our website every month and over 500,000 page views!

  • Instagram
  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
Featured Stories
Banner with Hot Tub.jpg
bottom of page