top of page

Advertise Here.

Read Full Story Here...
Formby School of Dancing & Perfoming Arts new banner.jpg

Formby Cricket Club has had a record breaking season

Formby Cricket Club in 2016 saw the most successful season in the clubs history with 4 trophies won across all teams.

The 1st XI had their best season in the clubs 151 year history. Under the leadership of the influential former Lancashire cricketer Ian Cockbain, the team finished a fantastic 2nd place and also won the 45 over knockout trophy in a fine performance against Colwyn Bay at Cricket Path.

The performances were shared about with the bulk of the runs scored by Dane Williams (625), Time Crawford (531) & wicket keeper James Seward (513).

The bowlers performed just as well with professional spinners Stephen Parry (41) and Gary Keedy (54) sharing 91 wickets between them. It was a pleasure to watch them bowl at cricket path. Aussie ace Time Crawford also chipped in with a very valuable 3 wickets.

The Liverpool competition is the highest level of club cricket below the county game and it is down the the hardwork from the committee and captains that Formby are now an established premier league side with a 2017 aim of winning the league.

The 2nd XI had an excellent season and if it had not been for a mid season blip would have been in with a great chance of silverware. Under the leadership of the motivational Matty Dearden the team performed well and created a fantastic team spirit with a team of local lads. The main run scores were Oli Gallagher (490), Andy T Kenyon (395), and Chris Jones (289), at times the batting let the team down and if another couple of players had pushed the 300 run mark the season would have been very different.

In the bowling department the dependable Dearden (38 wickets), swinging Beckingham (30) and wicket 2 wicket Tony Rogan (22) were the main wicket takers. Special mention to Matt Dearden who will be retiring from cricket to focus on his childrens nursery business venture.

The 3rd XI continued to develop players for the future with Ed lowe, Alex Powell, Nick Sutton and Jackson Cockbain all making significant contributions throughout the season leading to them all be giving 2nd XI opportunities.

Captained Andy McMoran again led the troops well and this was rewarded with a fine win in the Mike Leddy cup final at cricket path. The newly names club is named after Formby CHS club legend Mike who sadly passed way in 2012 after 60 years of service to the club and it was fitting that the cup game home to Formby.

The 4th XI had an excellent season with captain Steve Dwyer doing an excellent job to get a team out each week. The 4th XI is often the hardest job at the club and it is a credit to all players. Two excellent wins came against Old Xavs and Liverpool.

The Formby CC's production line of players coming through we have no doubt the 4XI will be pushing for promotion next season.

All in all 2016 was an outstanding season. The club is thriving both on and off the pitch and hopefully 2017 brings more silverware.

Top photo: The Formby Cricket Club 2016 committee collecting their silverware after the Liverpool Competition cricket league dinner

GA Bathrooms.jpeg
BLD Studio.png
Large Square Advert.jpg
square with Hot Tub.jpg
Square Advert 1.jpg

Submit Your News to Formby Bubble

Contact us with your Community News, Business or Sports News. 

Phone our Newsdesk on: 01704 86 30 30 






Please submit your news story to, the biggest news outlet for Formby with over 40,000 individual hits on our website every month and over 500,000 page views!

  • Instagram
  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
Featured Stories
Banner with Hot Tub.jpg
bottom of page